Site Sponsors & Vendors

Thread: Noob - Steering Issue

Post Thanks / Like

Default Noob - Steering Issue

Hello folks, noob here with a steering issue and hoping to see if anyone else had experienced the same issue or had any input on the possible cause. So I have a 2009 G8 GT, and for about 6 months or so, I have been experiencing subtle pulling when taking corners above 30 MPH or so. It is difficult to describe the sensation that I feel though if you can imagine driving on a road that has substantial grooves in the concrete, it feels as though I am driving on a road like this (though I am driving on smooth asphalt) where when you take corners, you feel tension as the tires get caught up in the grooves if that makes any sense. I had needed new tires and though that that could be it, though after replacing my tires, the issue remains. I have brought the car to the dealership, and the tech diagnosed that it was caused by worn struts. I was skeptical about his theory, though I approved the work as it was under extended warranty. So a month out from that work, and I am still having the issue. I have been wondering if it is related to the fact that I have an under drive pully installed (PBU117-SS25), the belts are Dayco 5060740 and 5040425. I also had installed the updated A/C tensioner bracket (92252927). The tensioner bracket was replaced a few months prior to having this issue so I made me think that maybe it was something with the belts. It seems as though maybe the issue is being caused by the belts being incorrect for this combination (too much or too little tension in the belts) of upgrades and this in turn affecting the performance of the power steering? If anyone could confirm that I have the correct belts for the underdrive pulley and the updated tensioner, I would appreciate that input so that at least I can put that to rest. Otherwise, if anyone has any other ideas on the possible cause, I would love to hear what you have to say. Thanks in advance for any i