Site Sponsors & Vendors
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Made my own Allergy Relief cabin filters. Spares for sale.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Made my own Allergy Relief cabin filters. Spares for sale.

I'm in the HVAC and filtration industry and I was shocked at the price of our oem style pleated cabin filters.
    This is the setup I have been running in mine for about 4 months. The aluminum frame fits where the pleated filter once sat. The filter pads tuck around the side and are over-sized to stop any unfiltered air from going around. That was a problem I saw on the pleated filter.
    This filter material is less restrictive to airflow than the pleated filters and it does a better job of stopping dirt, dust, and micro-sized particles that cause allergies. It is treated with an anti-microbial coating, meaning that it zaps mold spores so you breathe cleaner healthier air.

So once the aluminum frame is in place, you don't have to take it back out to change filters. Honestly, the frame doesn't slide right in. You'll have to pull upwards on the top part of the black plastic cover to fit the frame into the pocket (you can see this in the 2nd picture), but you only have to do this once. When the filter is ready to be changed, pull the used filter pad out, throw away, and tuck in a fresh one.

I made 4 aluminum frames extra.

$25.10 for a Frame and 6 Filters (4.18 each), +shipping
    or
    $40.20 for a Frame and 12 Filters (3.35 each), +shipping

To figure the shipping cost, 6 pads will go in a 13" x 13" x 6" box that weighs 3lbs, and 12 pads will go in a 13" x 13" x 12" box that weighs 4lbs.
    I'm in zip code 33584

2009 GT
    rotofab cai, kooks lt's, tune, 3.27 gears, bmr sways, 6/4 pot brembos, hawk hps, button paddle shifters, 275/30/20 square setup. occasionally autocrossed

PB = 12.783, 3.70 gears, fbo and tune.

Want better cabin filters at a lower price? Check my thread! 6 for $25!!!!
    http://www.grrrr8.net/showthread.php?t=38105