Site Sponsors & Vendors
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New G8 Owner - Does anyone know this car?

Post Thanks / Like

Default New G8 Owner - Does anyone know this car?

Hi, I bought a red 2008 G8 GT in January with 55700 miles on it (at the time). It has a few mods- Vararam intake (not installed very cleanly), Kooks headers, possibly a full exhaust, but I'm not sure. It also has aftermarket wheels, which unfortunately are lacking the TPMS sensors. They don't look bad, but I don't know what the hell was wrong with the stock wheels. Anyway, the car definitely has an EFI tune, because at the very least, AFM (or DOD, whatever) does not seem to be active. Possibly also a transmission tune, because I can't see much difference between driving it in normal Drive and Sport Shift. A couple people who've heard it idle said it sounds like it has a cam, but I don't know if the lopey idle is just the result of a less than optimal tune or some other issue. I'm brand new to computer-controlled engines. I just know from the smell that it runs rich.

This is a total shot in the dark, but this place seems to have the biggest group of Texas owners, compared to the other G8 forums I've seen. I'm wondering if the car sounds familiar to anyone. One of the two previous owners was obviously performance-minded, so maybe he posted here or was known among the G8 community. I'd mainly like to find out what was done to the car. If it has a cam, for example, I'd obviously like to know before I start trying to tune it. Or rather, before I get Patrick G to tune it... some things are best left to the experts.