PDA

View Full Version : Is this normal? Experts Please (Pics)

blackbirdws6
07-18-2009, 03:15 PM
Does this look normal? Noticed this within the past few hundred miles. Dealer wants to see another car with similar mileage to see if its normal. Regardless, can any experts chime in and tell me if this is normal? Looks like there is some contact occurring.

http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w170/bmdeluca/0718091743.jpg
http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w170/bmdeluca/0718091744a.jpg

08G8V8
07-18-2009, 03:42 PM
Check out this video Chris made. At the very end of the video he shows the movement here and says it to be normal. Looks like this is what yours is doing. But I'm no expert, I just remember seeing the video!

http://forum.grrrr8.net/showpost.php?p=115764&postcount=1

13 QTR
07-18-2009, 03:50 PM
Mine looks like that sometimes....I keep it wiped clean.

-Ray-
07-19-2009, 03:05 AM
I have a Pedders Street II and mine doesn't look like that at all. Normal for a stock G8 I guess.

blackbirdws6
07-19-2009, 03:33 AM
OK fair enough. I was going to clean it off but didn't want to do this before I found out if it was normal or not. Thanks for the info!

Devilish34
07-19-2009, 04:10 AM
Now I have to go out into the garage and look lol

beach
07-19-2009, 08:23 AM
NOT normal. Most stock all G8's are either like that or degrade to be like that, and it's all due to the front strut top bushings being squashed (or, as I say, trashed) largely right from the boat ride and then even more so after some driving. It contributes to a lot of alignment, looseness, and other issues up front, and is as much a problem on this car as it was on the GTO.