PDA

View Full Version : "New to" Tuning Questions

blackoutgt
06-21-2009, 06:04 AM
So I'm fairly new to performance mods and tuning, so I had a few questions before I dive in. Here we go...

1) which is better/easier/cheaper, taking it to a shop for a tune on a dyno, or mail order tuning from like VMS.(there isn't any good close shops around me)

2)I just put on a Vararam intake (props by the way), and I want to tune, BUT, I'm also planning on doing other mods in the future. Should I wait, or will I be able to update tunes for free? (I don't want to have to re-buy a tune)

3) any suggestions? ECM,TCM, etc?

Thanks for the help y'all. Forums make life with a G8 so much sweeter.

'02 ws6
06-21-2009, 07:30 AM
VMS has a good mail order tune for the VaraRam and you can add a kick ass TCM tune as well for next to nothing. They also offer a flash cable that's really cool, so you won't have to pay for a whole brand new tune, just an updated tune if you go with more mods down the line.
BlackBerry8830/4.2.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104

Matt@SNL[OLD]
06-22-2009, 01:08 PM
A mail order tune will be easier, but a dyno tune will be more comprehensive. Give me a call at the shop and I can go into detail.

Matt
817-750-2000

G8+6=fun
06-22-2009, 01:40 PM