PDA

View Full Version : Kooks install

SFC
08-30-2008, 09:30 AM
Anyone installed the kooks themselves? I've got a buddy with a shop who will let me use his lift for cheap/free. Just wondering how long/how involved it is to get it installed?

I'm no mechanic, but I don't mind getting my hands dirty and can generally get stuff taken care of myself. Seeing how much space their is in the engine bay, it doesn't seem like it should be too bad. I heard there might be some issues with the oil dipstick tube?

Any input would be appreciated :)

GRRRR8
08-30-2008, 12:03 PM
It should not be more the 4-5 hours with basic tools. Take spark plugs out so you dont break them!

SFC
09-01-2008, 04:57 PM
air tools and a mechanics help? Still the same time?

GRRRR8
09-02-2008, 04:48 AM
If you have help, maybe 3.5-4hrs

SFC
09-04-2008, 12:32 PM
Looks like this might end up on the floor of my garage with ramps o.O :(

SFC
09-04-2008, 12:54 PM
only took me 10 minutes to do the axle backs, how hard could the rest be? :D

GRRRR8
09-04-2008, 02:07 PM
Since this is what I do for a living and I do all aspects of automotive repair, that is what I always say "I've done such an such how hard can this be"
:repair:

SFC
09-04-2008, 06:38 PM
Since this is what I do for a living and I do all aspects of automotive repair, that is what I always say "I've done such an such how hard can this be"
:repair:

BTW, you dyno yet? If so, what are you putting down? I should have the exact same mods by next spring, just wondering where I'll be.

GTPprix
09-04-2008, 08:10 PM
One of our Mechanics actually said the headers themselves were easier than the shorties we put on Dr. Millers car! The midpipe was a bit more difficult to get setup just right but its there. We should have fresh dyno numbers tomorrow, we also found a HUGE vacuum leak on Pauls car that was there from the factory apparently! I'll post info/pics on that tomorrow to help you guys out hopefully!

G8GT594
09-04-2008, 08:43 PM