PDA

View Full Version : Boost-a-pump testing

wreckwriter
03-01-2009, 10:59 AM
Anyone know a good way to test if a Kenne Bell BAP is working? I'd like to find a way to test this thing safely but it needs to be in boost to activate. I really don't like full throttle street testing in manual mode. These has to be a better way.

It uses a Hobbs switch to sense boost. I have it tee'd into my boost gauge line.

norm8332
03-01-2009, 11:08 AM
You know I'm not an expert, but if it's a normally open Hobbs switch couldn't you just manually connect the switch wires and measure the output voltage of the boost a pump?

Most likely need the ignition on.

I'm sure the experts will chime in.

wreckwriter
03-01-2009, 11:15 AM
You know I'm not an expert, but if it's a normally open Hobbs switch couldn't you just manually connect the switch wires and measure the output voltage of the boost a pump?

Most likely need the ignition on.

I'm sure the experts will chime in.

Maybe. That's one thing I thought of but wasn't sure that would be safe to do.

wreckwriter
03-01-2009, 12:52 PM
Went ahead and did it. Worked great.

norm8332
03-01-2009, 01:01 PM
Great! Thanks to your efforts we know what to do if anyone else needs one.

I might, don't know yet.

Robert@KBXPerformance
03-01-2009, 04:32 PM
Most of us Ford guys just wired a jumper between the posts that you connected the hobbs switch to. The BAP stays active all the time which makes for a smooth AFR curve when going WOT. It doesn't hurt anything to do it that way either.

wreckwriter
03-01-2009, 04:52 PM
Most of us Ford guys just wired a jumper between the posts that you connected the hobbs switch to. The BAP stays active all the time which makes for a smooth AFR curve when going WOT. It doesn't hurt anything to do it that way either.

That's how I determined this was safe, found posts in Ford forums about doing that.

Robert@KBXPerformance
03-02-2009, 04:58 PM