PDA

View Full Version : DYNO Tune or Cortex

Devilish34
02-17-2009, 01:08 PM
I stopped by a Race Proven Motorsports today and talked with the owner.
They do a Dyno tune for $400 and he said to expect a 15-20 hp increase
over stock. With the Dyno tune they would give me a base line stock then with the nep cai then their tune so as I could see the differences. I only have 1200miles on her so I want to wait until 3k to tune and I'm still waiting for my
cai.

My question is that about right for the money or is the Cortex at $350ish a better deal? I'm new to this tuning thingy :wacko:

99-LS1-SS
02-17-2009, 01:46 PM
From what I remember the price seems in line. Regarding how long you should wait is really a preference that you will have to decide on. Me personally, I'm not waiting very long to get a tune.

Slizzo
02-17-2009, 01:52 PM
A custom dyno tune will always win out over a handheld tuner. Only reason why I bought my Cortex was I want to be able to flash to stock whenever I bring my car in for dealer services. (Lease vehicle)

Once I buy another G8 when my lease is up, and I will be able to mod at my pleasure, I will probably get some sort of Dyno tune.

Devilish34
02-17-2009, 01:55 PM
A custom dyno tune will always win out over a handheld tuner. Only reason why I bought my Cortex was I want to be able to flash to stock whenever I bring my car in for dealer services. (Lease vehicle)

Once I buy another G8 when my lease is up, and I will be able to mod at my pleasure, I will probably get some sort of Dyno tune.

I asked about dealer service and if I had to return it to stock if needed to avoid warranty hassles and he said he would do it. They could and would do the tune while I wait and said it would take 1 to 1.5 hrs to do.

Slizzo
02-17-2009, 01:58 PM
Sounds good then man, go to it!

And you really should see more than 15-20 to the wheels on a 93 octane tune. These cars are pretty tame from the factory!

bwooten492
02-17-2009, 03:54 PM