PDA

View Full Version : Catch Can + Amsoil = interesting find

Napalm
02-26-2013, 08:27 AM
Now I'm going to start this with 2 parts so as not to go off the oil deep end because I don't want to hear it.

1) this isn't about trying to get people to use amsoil, I don't sell it and that's got nothing to do with the reason for this thread in the slightest.

2) I am selling people on the idea of a catch can, you should use one and you should check it regularly.

That said - I DD my G8GT, and I now have 98254 miles on Gertrude. She needs some new bushings and struts but I love my 4 door family car.

Because of my previous history with LS engines and I am an engineer I bought a catch can for my car within the month of having it. and I bought her used with 58K on the clock back in 2011.

I started off using Mobil 1 for oil changes - then RP because of the deal I could get off some clothing store website. I noticed I had to empty the catch can quite often with the L76 engine - more so than I did with my LS1 in the GTO. But still not major in the amount. About 1/2 through my standard 5000 mile oil change I would empty out the can.

Over the first year that can had some residue in it that accumulated along the sides. I would call it a tar like film it didn't come out when I dumped the oil and it was like baked on oil - which I think it about accurate. Since catch can is catching hot oil vapor of the PCV system and letting it condense in an AL can.

Last summer my car started to piston slap on cold starts (probably always did it but it was noticeable at this point and it had 90K+ on the dial). So I had heard many people wax poetic about Amsoil - to the point where a local guy basically gave me the 9qts for the change job last july. when I had 92K on the dial. He gave me the middle tier product that I believe have XL on the label.