PDA

View Full Version : G8 battery removal/possible corrosion

-Ray-
01-24-2009, 11:30 AM
Charlie, here are the pics promised.
Later I'll do a thread on how to remove the battery for those that need help.

DRCUSTOMPARTS
01-24-2009, 11:38 AM
All batteries will corrode to some degree, and it doesn't look like yours is excessive.

-Ray-
01-24-2009, 11:51 AM
All batteries will corrode to some degree, and it doesn't look like yours is excessive.

The battery isn't corroded. Since the car is less than a year on the street I wouldn't expect it to.
I talked to charlie on the phone earlier, so he knows what to look for.
Just to give you a little info on me, I've been driving since 1968 and worked at the dealership with my Dad when I was younger.
Now I'm an applications engineer working in the automotive industry. I was simply pointing out a potential issue with the G8 battery.

wreckwriter
01-24-2009, 12:05 PM
Mine was 10x that.

-Ray-
01-24-2009, 12:18 PM
Mines been parked for a couple months now. I checked the voltage and it was 11.79v. I'm guessing it may not have started had I tried. I took the battery out to put it on the charger.

DRCUSTOMPARTS
01-24-2009, 12:19 PM
Ray if you have all those credentials why are you asking Charlie? I'm just a Tool & Die Maker and I can see it looks ok.

-Ray-
01-24-2009, 12:25 PM
Because I value Charlie's opinion. I was a die maker before my current job.
In regards to your previous post, I just thought you were stating the obvious.

DRCUSTOMPARTS
01-24-2009, 12:58 PM
I went to school to be a mechanic and have worked on my own cars for 30 years, so I do know a little bit about them. And in all those years I have never seen a battery that was corrosion free, and I would say yours looks very good.

MANOFSTEEL69
01-24-2009, 01:05 PM
Ray, thanks for sharing what could be possibly a "long" term issue with us, if not an immediate one.