PDA

View Full Version : Transmission shifting

madmax
01-08-2009, 04:01 PM
In My G8 GT, when the transmission shifts under normal driving, it seems like there is about a 1/2 second delay inbetween gears-------is this normal or do I already have a problem. I only have 1100 miles on it.

Can someone please advise me?

wreckwriter
01-08-2009, 04:20 PM
Stock shifting is pitiful. Be sure you have all TCM updates and if that's not enough, get a tune.

66goat
01-08-2009, 05:25 PM
Exactly...I have the tune from VMS if shifts quickly and with authority...

madmax
01-08-2009, 05:57 PM
Stock shifting is pitiful. Be sure you have all TCM updates and if that's not enough, get a tune.

How would I know if I have all the updates and where would I go to get them if I lack any-------the dealership?

Sorry I am a noob on this part of the G8

wreckwriter
01-08-2009, 06:06 PM
Unfortunately, yes, the dealer.

GeorgeInNePa
01-08-2009, 06:15 PM
How would I know if I have all the updates and where would I go to get them if I lack any-------the dealership?

Sorry I am a noob on this part of the G8

If it's an '09, it's my understanding that all updates were performed before you got the car.

If it's an '08, the dealer can check for updates with your VIN.

madmax
01-08-2009, 06:42 PM
Its an 09 Sooooooooooo, I have all the updates then. So are you guys saying that my tranny, with the delay in shifting gears is normal?

bwooten492
01-08-2009, 07:32 PM
Its an 09 Sooooooooooo, I have all the updates then. So are you guys saying that my tranny, with the delay in shifting gears is normal?

Dude these trannys suck bad. Its very normal. I would still check the dealer about updates but a tune is what really helps. Alot of guys have good experiences with Vector. Try them out. They are a sponsor here.

R.Penguin
01-08-2009, 07:49 PM