PDA

View Full Version : G8 GXP lsx 454 and mod questions, Answers and Suggestions?

cWriGhtZ
08-02-2011, 09:11 PM
I'm new to the car scene, i'm positive i want the g8, i have questions for the lsx 454 and also what can be added, i'm going to be buying a 09 G8 GXP with the six-speed automatic transmission soon, I want to have a high horsepower g8 that can be my daily driver, Ive been doing research stock it comes giving out around 400-415 Hp/402 lb-ft torque, From what i've seen they seem to know what they're doing with g8's so i'll probably go to livernois motosports for all add on's, i was thinking of adding:

MagnaCharger 2300

Corsa dual rear exit exhaust with intergrated x-style cross over pipe and Twin 3.0" Pro-series tips

Rotofab Cold air intake

L92 Stage 2c Camshaft

Custom Kooks 1 7/8" Shorty Headers

Dual Valve Springs

Possible: Yanks Super Stock Stall Torque Converter(Not sure if i need?)

Livernois Dyno Tuning

I figure with that set up i can get around 500+ HP? But then i found the LSX 454 Crate Engine saying it gives out 620 Hp/590 lb-ft torque, that being said could i install the lsx 454 into the g8 gxp and still add all the add on's i mentioned above, Or should i just stick with the Ls3? With the 6x Six-Speed Transmission would adding the Paddle Shifter void out the original manual(+ and -)stick shifting option or could both work? Also around what Hp/Lb-Ft Torque would i see with the lsx 454 engine and mentioned add on's if possible? Any other parts or suggestions are welcome!!!

travis gore
08-03-2011, 01:11 AM
with the lsx454 will need a fuel system and lots of rear end parts
rear
GForce axles
BMR or Pedders bushings
toe rods
trailing arms

when you say new to the car scene what do you mean? How fast was your last car?

fwiw I would just keep the ls3 that is in it. do the mods listed and call it a day

gr8lover
08-03-2011, 03:25 AM