PDA

View Full Version : Helmets

Rawyzf
04-15-2011, 07:03 AM
Can you guys help me out with letting me know where a good place to get a helmet is?

Track rules say it must be DOT/Snell 2005 or 2010 approved for this year.

Looking for something cheap :). I only go to the track a couple times a year at most.

Thanks,
Ryan

G8 GT V8
04-15-2011, 07:24 AM
I've been hitting the track for a couple years now and they have yet to even take a look at my helmet. Had I known that, I could have bought a much cheaper one from a Meijer's close to my house, but I didn't know that that would be the case and spent more money on the DOT/Snell helmet at a local Honda motorcycle dealership. So, I'm not sure how strict your track is, but if they're not very strict, you could get by with a really cheap one. Otherwise, a local motorcycle dealer should have a bunch to pick from.

wreckwriter
04-15-2011, 07:30 AM
Most tracks that I've been to DO check. Try here: http://www.helmetcity.com/page/HC/CTGY/autosnellm

G8 GT V8
04-15-2011, 07:46 AM
I guess I should have clarified that I'm only running at the test-n-tune events and both local tracks have never checked my helmet. It might be totally different at my local tracks for when they do actual bracket racing. Not sure if it makes a difference or not...

G8 GT V8
04-15-2011, 07:47 AM
Most tracks that I've been to DO check. Try here: http://www.helmetcity.com/page/HC/CTGY/autosnellm

If I had a kick-ass low 11 second G8 like yours, I bet they'd be all over me :)

G8 GT V8
04-15-2011, 07:53 AM
Contrary to what I said before about being able to get by with a cheaper helmet, at the end of the day, we're talking about your safety and protecting your head, so even though you might be able to skimp by with something cheaper, it's really best not to be cutting corners on safety equipment...

Rawyzf
04-15-2011, 07:56 AM

Thank you Sir!