PDA

View Full Version : Modded and Warranty

oats21
07-03-2010, 11:19 PM
So I've been eyeing a G8 GT for a few months now, and I think I may have finally found the right one. Only problem is its been modded, and not being much of a car guy I need the assurance of a warranty. Its had Kooks Stainless Steel Long tube headers, high flow cats, a vararam intake and dyno tuned done to it by the owner (ASE certified he claims) , and while I would still have some rights to the mfg warranty under law, I'm worried the tune may void the powertain. What are your thoughts for a guy like me? Should I bother, or keep looking for one thats not modded?

-Ray-
07-04-2010, 02:23 AM
Talk to the dealer you would have warranty work done and ask.

TooManyHobbies
07-04-2010, 06:15 AM
Find one to drive without the mods, then drive one with the mods. You may change your opinion!

thebeast
07-04-2010, 11:50 AM
you should be fine, depending on what type or warranty work may be needed. they do have to prove that the mods caused the issue. id say go for it because those mods will probably be what you may want. if not, then find another one

SRG963
07-04-2010, 01:06 PM
If you want a warranty, you need to buy a stock G8. They can void your powertrain warranty with the mods you described.

BlueJacket
07-04-2010, 02:11 PM
If you were to get a 100% stock car would you mod it? If not find a stock G8.

Steve GT
07-04-2010, 02:12 PM
The tune alone will void your warranty. If you have an engine or transmission failure they will have to provide a picture of the codes stored within the ECU. If the vehicle has a different ECM or if it has been altered and the codes do not match then the engine/trans replacement would be denied by GM. Even if the dealer is willing to work with you, GM has the final say as it is coming out of their pocket.