PDA

View Full Version : Boost questions.

99-LS1-SS
01-29-2010, 06:00 AM
For the people that understand this process better than me, what supporting modifications to the heads will enhance power with a supercharger. What, specifically, needs to be done to the heads?

BlownPoncho
01-29-2010, 06:09 AM
Obviously A por and polish job would make some more power, but from what I have read these heads flow great on both the intake and exhaust side. I believe that the exhaust side could be made to flow a little better to take advantage of how well the intake side does... so maybe clean up the exhaust side and a larger exhaust valve. But I am a rookie that just my 1 cent lol

GeorgeInNePa
01-29-2010, 06:25 AM
Port and Polish job, definitely the exhaust side, maybe the intake as well. You do have the option of just cleaning up the intake side. Also, have a good valve job done. Since you are there, upgrade your valve springs and keepers, locks, etc. Your valves should be ok, but some people don't like the hollow stem intakes on boosted engines.

norm8332
01-29-2010, 07:03 AM
I only did the valve job.

BlownPoncho
01-29-2010, 07:36 AM
Norm I thought I read somewhere that you were getting some valve float before you did your cam. Is that true? If so would upgrading to a slightly heavier valve spring be good? just a thought

norm8332
01-29-2010, 07:51 AM
Yeah there was some, but I believe it was mostly caused by an exhaust restriction.

When I said only the valve job, that was only because the heads were off when the cam went in just recently. I did get new springs, but that was because the cam lift exceeded the specifications of the stock springs.

IMO you will be fine with your planned mods. The only thing you might need is a Magnavolt or BAP if you want to put on a smaller pulley.

99-LS1-SS
01-29-2010, 08:21 AM
The fuel system shouldn't be a problem. I'm redoing it.

Ktlplxm
01-29-2010, 11:42 PM