PDA

View Full Version : How long to balance wheels?

Spooky1
10-02-2009, 11:16 AM
I dropped my car off yesterday at the dealer for the wheels to be force balanced and install I guess the carpet trunk liner on the lid. They still have my car and haven't called to tell me it's ready. How long does it take to force balance wheels. I had a shake it the wheel while driving on roads over 35 mph so they said they would force balance and if that didn't work they would give my new tires thinking it had flat spots in tires. Mind you I dropped it off at 10:30 am on Thursday. They did call thursday at 3 pm to tell me no time for balance today but the liner was in car now and they would keep car over nite. So it takes 4 hours to install a liner with 12 push pins that long. I'm no expert but does it take a long time to balance wheels at dealer or is it sent off site? Any info would be great or any comments on the shake in the steering wheel would be great. Thx.:confused2::confused2::repair::repair::repair: :repair:

Chewy
10-02-2009, 12:11 PM
One hour maybe two MAX to balance them...

You've been put behind other cars.

I hope you get it back today. If not I would be steaming mad.

Chris

G8GT721
10-02-2009, 12:48 PM
One hour maybe two MAX to balance them...

You've been put behind other cars.

I hope you get it back today. If not I would be steaming mad.

Chris

you definatley got pushed to the back

00 Trans Ram
10-02-2009, 01:22 PM
What is "force" balancing? I've had a few hundred wheels balanced (OK, it's the same 8, but new race tires every month) in the past few years, and never heard this term.

Perhaps that's why they are taking so long to balance them, if they are "using the force".

-Ray-
10-02-2009, 02:13 PM
Pressure is applied to the tire while it spins. Sensors pick up variations in weight differences that a regular spin balancer can't.