Site Sponsors & Vendors
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 46 of 46

Thread: Apple TV install DIY

  1. #41
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    2
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by terryscott621 View Post
    Bringing this thread back from the dead!

    I'm looking into doing this mod on my car since I'm not crazy about any of the aftermarket radio options out there. I'd like to be able to fit everything behind the center dash to keep everything hidden and I think there's room for a small power inverter, apple tv, and router behind there. I had a question about the router though. I found the router linked below and was hoping that someone smarter than me about this kind of stuff could tell me if this would work for this setup. Thanks for the help.

    Amazon link:
    https://www.amazon.com/Edimax-BR-625...=edimax+router

    Link to product webpage:
    http://www.edimax.com/edimax/merchan...n150/br-6258n/


    Yeah, you can use that router. It is just to create a private network for you car. This is how the apple tv will connect to your iPhone or iPad.

  2. #42
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    This may also may be a stupid question, but what stops you from hooking up an Xbox in your car or another game console?

  3. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    145
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Nothing. Hooked up one of the Atari all in one's in mine for testing.

  4. #44
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    48
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    I did this and am running into issues getting the video to work. I did the VIM myself and tested it with a DVD player, all worked and got video through. Purchased an HDMI to RCA converter (Now on my 3rd one because i was convinced it was the only thing in the situation that could be faulty) and plugged my apple tv in. Everything powers up but all i get is audio, i get no video through to my screen.

    Did you guys have to mess with the video output on the apple tv to get it to work or did you leave everything on auto?

    At one time i was able to get video with the apple tv, it lasted for about 5 minutes and by the time i was done setting up my router i had lost video.

    Current Hdmi to RCA converter
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    2nd Hdmi to RCA Converter
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    Last edited by birdmang8; 10-21-2017 at 06:50 AM.

  5. #45
    Junior Member CReed1130's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by birdmang8 View Post
    I did this and am running into issues getting the video to work. I did the VIM myself and tested it with a DVD player, all worked and got video through. Purchased an HDMI to RCA converter (Now on my 3rd one because i was convinced it was the only thing in the situation that could be faulty) and plugged my apple tv in. Everything powers up but all i get is audio, i get no video through to my screen.

    Did you guys have to mess with the video output on the apple tv to get it to work or did you leave everything on auto?

    At one time i was able to get video with the apple tv, it lasted for about 5 minutes and by the time i was done setting up my router i had lost video.

    Current Hdmi to RCA converter
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    2nd Hdmi to RCA Converter
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    I have had the same issue yet Iíve still not been able to receive any video whatsoever. If you solve this issue please let me know how to fix it!!!!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  6. #46
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    48
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default

    It was an issue with the Video converters i was receiving. Finally received one that worked after about 4 times.

    Here is the one i am using that has been working great.

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Had to run an extra ground to the RCA Video ground to clear up some noise but it has been working well.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •