Site Sponsors & Vendors
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hard time with SPOHN lowerend control arm

Post Thanks / Like

Default Hard time with SPOHN lowerend control arm

Well spend 5 hours today trying to put on the lowerend control arm.

First off it looks like the placement of the holes is little off if compared to stock, stock has longer hole where it goes on the knuckle. And then I’m diegrinning the knuckle because it doesn’t fit right WTF.

I know I’m not a Mechanic just yet still at school, and I don’t have a four post lift but I do have all the tools that you could think off

So is there a trick to it? Do I have to have the hole ass up ? and I think that SPOHN drop the bole on the grinding of the knuckle if the part was design for the car it should not require any modification and if it does it should have a disclaimer.

I’m not just yet giving up on SPOHN I do like the parts the price is right and Rob at Wretched Motorsports is a good man so will see
    Torque@ 349 HP@ 341

Smells of Bacon... GeorgeInNePa's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like

The trailing arm was designed on a Camaro. The bottom of the Camaro spindle is different than the G8.

I too had to Dremel the bottom of the spindle to get the arm to fit. There is a huge casting line on the spindle.

Charlie altered the arm and sent it back to Spohn. They are making a change to the arm.

If you have trouble and don't want to alter your spindle or the trailing arm, contact Spohn, they are aware of the problem and will work with you.
    2011 Kona Blue 5.0 Auto -->(Livernois 93Tune and DR only-11.880 @ 118.11, 1.827) - Lund Racing Tune - BOSS Intake - JPC LTs&OTA, O/R-X, GT500muffs - CircleD 4500 - DSS shaft - DA QA1s - J&M LCAs - JPC UCA/BMR mount - 295/50/16 MT DRs - JLT Catch Can (awaiting install UPR K, TSS oil pump gears)

'08 Black on Black G8GT--> 12.166 @ 113.13, 1.723 Bolt 0ns and Converter --Gone, but not forgotten.--
    http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...a/gr_devil.gif